Running

LymeRunners in the media

Some of you may already know that I’ve been working with RunTogether to publish an article about #LymeRunners at Lyme Park NT. It’s been published today in the Stockport Express and hopefully helps to encourage others to come out running and to experience the health benefits (physical and mental) that it brings. Just a pity they got my name wrong in the title.

Running benefits for MH
Running benefits for Mental health

I don’t know exactly what it is that makes me feel so relaxed when running. I find that once I get out of the house and am running in the countryside, all I think about is the immediate world around me, the colours, smells and sounds (I never run with headphones) of the world outside. Anything else that was on my mind from my life gets put to one side, just for that short time whilst I’m running.

Nobody goes through the whole of their life without a care in the world. Often the things that play on our minds are trivial in the grand scheme of things. Yet, due to the fast-paced world we live in, these things can easily build up into stress. I find running is a great way to uncap that valve and to let the stress escape from me.

Why not try running somewhere beautiful? Come along to a LymeRunners session and leave your daily worries aside for an hour or so. It may be the small change in your life that makes a difference to you.

One thought on “LymeRunners in the media

Leave a Reply

